Thistle Holiday Parks - Scotland's Select
Park Directory - Search
Touring Caravan Parks Scotland
Caravan and tent parks in Scotland

Thistle Parks on a Google map

Top-quality Caravan Parks

Request A Brochure
Thistle Park Availability

follow thistleparks on facebook

Tour Scotland -
With Your Caravan, Motorhome or Tent

Thistle Holiday Parks are for touring caravans, for motorhomes and for camping and glamping.  The parks are of a 4- or 5-star standard and are among the best in Scotland, whether for touring caravans or motorhomes.  Several parks also have glamping pods for camping with mod cons..  .Most have hard-standing pitches, often with services nearby.

On Thistle Holiday Parks the facilities include:
-  shower and toilet blocks
-  launderette
-  areas for preparing food and for washing dishes
-  chemical disposal facilities for caravans and perhaps also for  motorhomes.
-  many of the pitches are on firm ground and some have hook-ups to services.
Plus:   Some parks have leisure facilities e.g. swimming pool,  games room, bar and restaurant, and entertainment for the family.
TentsTents Welcome:  Many of our parks welcome tents and some set aside a special area. Look for the tent symbol on the entries when you plan your camping holiday in Scotland.

Glamping pods:. These are small, wooden "huts", not quite a tent, not quite a holiday home! Some are basic but many have electricity and a toilet.  Some are luxurious!
You usually have to provide sleeping bags and cooking and eating utensils. For more information and ideas give glamping a go!

Thistle Holiday Parks Children WelcomeChildren and Pets Welcome: The caravan parks have safe play areas;  some have a games room. Many parks welcome pets -  look for the dog symbol and bring your pet to Scotland.

Availability: To check which parks have spacefor  when you plan to travel, you can send one e.mail from our website to all the parks  However, apart from peak times, parks usually have space.

Which Park is where?    You can search alphabetically or search by area.  Or by key criteria: See the Search by Recreation/Facility at the top of the page.

Accessibility:  Some parks have lodges or caravans adapted for guests with a mobility impairment; this is shown by  a symbol on their entry. However, the parks may not have had an independent assessment, but any parks with this symbol should be able to provide an access statement which they have drawn up. We recommend that you speak with the park before you book... Parks which do have access statements are Mortonhall in Edinburgh, Tantallon in North Berwick and Belhaven in Dunbar. Red Deer near Glasgow.  Craig Tara in Ayr and Seton Sands on the Firth of Forth  

Acitivites on our parks:  Come of our caravan parks have activities on site. www.thistleparks.co.uk/selfcatering/activities.php
For walking and cycling and wildlife-watching in the forests, go to the  Forestry Commission Scotland's page.  http://www.thistleparks.co.uk/selfcatering/forestrycommission.php 

Itineraries:  Stuck for ideas on where to tour?  Check out our interaries' page.  www.thistleparks.co.uk/touring/itineraries.php  .

What to see:   Before you plan your holiday, be sure to look at what our partners offer;  visiting attractions is an essential part of your holiday.
Wherever you go, whatever your interests, you'll find something to keep you occupied.
Under Places To Go is information on castles, historic houses, gardens, forests, walking trails and visitor centres.  
Historic Scotland,  Forestry Commission Scotland and Edinburgh Woollen Mill's visitor centres.  These are open all year, although
some Historic Scotland properties have restricted opening in the winter.

For the Autumn:  we picked out some of Historic Scotland's properties which are  often missed by visitors because they are not famous.

Ayrshire:
• Dundonald Castle www.historicenvironment.scot/dundonald-castle

East Lothian:
• Dirleton Castle and Gardens www.historicenvironment.scot/dirleton-castle
• Tantallon Castle www.historicenvironment.scot/tantallon-castle
• Hailes Castle www.historicenvironment.scot/visit-a-place/places/hailes-castle/

Oban area:
• Dunstaffnage Castle and Chapel www.historicenvironment.scot/dunstaffnage-castle
• Kilchurn Castle www.historicenvironment.scot/visit-a-place/places/kilchurn-castle/

West of Glasgow:
Dumbarton Castle:  www.historicenvironment.scot/dumbarton-castle

Dumfries-shire
Caerlaverock Castle:  www.historicenvironment.scot/caerlaverock-castle
 The brochure:  A pdf of the 2014-15 brochure can be downloaded from this page .

Historic Scotland Forestry Commission Scotland Edinburgh Woollen Mill Scotland
Historic Scotland Forestry Commission Edinburgh Woollen Mill

 Camping Caravan parks Scotland for touring caravans, motorhomes and tents, and glamping

By Recreation / Facility Park Name / Town By Map / Area